Cleveland Menacing Defense Lawyer
Menacing Charge in Ohio
In Cleveland, you can be charged with Menacing (O.R.C. 2903.22) even if you didn’t lay a finger on anyone or make a verbal threat against them. What is menacing in Ohio? Menacing is a charge that applies to a wide range of circumstances, including alleged stalking. Because of this, misunderstandings on the part of the police or the alleged victim are often the cause for this criminal charge.
Prosecutors will work hard to try and prove that you led the alleged victim to believe you would harm them, a member of their family, or their property. If you’re convicted of menacing, you could face jail time and fines in addition to damage to your reputation.
The Cleveland menacing defense attorneys at Patituce & Associates vigorously defend the rights of accused people throughout the state of Ohio. If you have been accused of the crime of menacing, contact our firm immediately to schedule a free and confidential case review. As these charges can easily be overblown, our goal is to ensure that your rights are protected throughout the entire criminal process and that you are treated fairly by the Ohio courts.
Call (440) 709-8088 to see how our Cleveland menacing defense lawyers can help you fight for your rights.
Ohio Menacing Penalties
It’s important to take even misdemeanor prosecutions seriously. Just because a crime is not a felony does not mean that it doesn’t come with serious repercussion. Fight back with us at your side!
There several charges that fall into this category:
- Menacing (O.R.C. 2903.22) - Punishable by 30 days in jail and a $250 fine
- Aggravated Menacing (O.R.C. 2903.21) - Can lead to longer jail sentences (up to 180 days)
- Menacing by Stalking (O.R.C. 2903.211) - Punishable by 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine
If you have prior convictions though, the prosecution may seek a fourth-degree felony charge and stricter penalties. Fourth-degree felony charges can lead to 18 months in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Ohio's Aggravated Menacing Law
In Ohio, it's illegal for anyone to make another individual reasonably believe that they could cause them serious physical injury. This conduct is what's known as aggravated menacing, and it's a misdemeanor offense.
In the scenario given at the start of this blog, we provided a fictitious example of an argument that escalated to a threat against your neighbor. And although that's one situation you could be charged with aggravated menacing, you could also be accused of this offense even if you didn't threaten the person you were arguing with.
The law states that it is unlawful to make another believe that serious physical harm will be caused to:
- Their unborn child,
- Their immediate family member, or
- Their property
You could also violate this law by threatening, by words or conduct, the other person's place of employment or an organization to which they belong.
What Is 'Serious Physical Harm' in Ohio?
Ohio's aggravated menacing law provides that an offense is committed when someone believes that they are in danger of serious physical harm. But what exactly is “serious physical harm?”
Under O.R.C. 2901.01, serious physical harm to a person includes the following:
- Mental illness that would require the person to be hospitalized or receive psychiatric treatment
- Injury that causes a substantial risk of death
- Injury that results in permanent incapacity or temporary but substantial incapacity
- Injury that causes either permanent disfigurement or temporary but serious disfigurement
- Injury that results in substantial suffering or prolonged pain
Serious harm to property includes anything that would:
- Substantially decrease the value of the property
- Require a substantial amount of time to replace or repair
- Reduces the use or enjoyment of the property
What Happens If I'm Convicted of Aggravated Menacing in OH?
Threatening serious harm to another person, their family, or their property is a first-degree misdemeanor. If you're found guilty, you could be imprisoned for up to 180 days and/or fined up to $1,000.
However, under certain circumstances, the charge can be elevated to a felony. It's a fifth-degree felony if the person you threatened is an officer or employee of an agency that provides children services or child placement and the threat was related to the performance of their official duties. In this case, the penalties you could face include imprisonment for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
If you were previously convicted of a violent crime against an employee of a child services agency, and you commit another aggravated menacing offense, a fourth-degree felony charge will be levied against you. The conviction penalties include up to 18 months imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Arrested? Call (440) 709-8088 for Legal Guidance!
The Cleveland menacing defense lawyers at Patituce & Associates know how to push back against charges that you engaged in conduct others may have misconstrued. Our assault attorneys have spent more than 30 years in the legal field. As former prosecutors, we’ve spent time on both sides of the courtroom. Let us use this experience to fight for you.
Call (440) 709-8088 to set up your first consultation with a Cleveland menacing defense lawyer and to protect your rights!
We Offer No-Cost, Confidential Phone Consultations.
Our Team Has Over 70 Years of Combined Experience.
Our Lead Attorney Is A Board Certified Criminal Trial Attorney.
Our Attorneys Have Taken Cases to Jury Trials Over 200 Times.
We Are the Firm Other Attorneys, Police & Prosecutors Turn To.
We Are Available 24/7.