Assault Lawyer Cleveland, OH
Ohio Assault Laws
A physical assault charge can change your life. Whether at the felony or misdemeanor level, a conviction can lock you out of employment opportunities, housing-even higher education. Some assault charges can also land you on the state's sex offender registry, and you stand a good chance of serving time if convicted.
When you've been charged under Ohio's assault statutes, you need prompt representation by a Cleveland assault attorney. At Patituce & Associates, we provide our clients with top quality legal advice, and represent their interests from the time of the arrest forward. Let us help you understand your legal options in the face of an assault charge.
Schedule your first consultation by calling (440) 709-8088 now!
Simple Assault in Ohio
According to Ohio law O.R.C. 2903.13, knowingly or recklessly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to another or another's unborn is considered simple assault.
In Ohio, simple assault is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by a six-month jail sentence and fines up to $1,000.
Aggravated Assault in Ohio
Under O.R.C. 2903.12, aggravated assault is to knowingly cause serious physical harm to another or to another's unborn by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance.
Aggravated assault is a fourth-degree felony in Ohio and can lead to prison sentences between 18 months and six years with a $5,000 fine.
Negligent Assault in Ohio
Negligent assault in Ohio is defined under O.R.C. 2903.14. It is knowingly causing physical harm to another or another’s unborn by negligent use of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance.
In Ohio, negligent assault is charged as a third-degree misdemeanor with a potential sentence of up to 60 days in jail and a fine of $500.
Felonious Assault in Ohio
Felonious assault under O.R.C. 2903.11 is defined as knowingly causing physical harm to another or another's unborn, use of a deadly weapon, or engaging in sexual conduct while HIV positive without disclosing it, sexual conduct with someone lacking mental capacity, or an individual under 18.
In Ohio, felonious assault is a second-degree felony punishable by a prison sentence between two and eight years with a $20,000 fine.
Vehicular Assault in Ohio
According to Ohio law O.R.C. 2903.08, vehicular assault is causing serious injury to another person by operating a vehicle recklessly (may be under the influence of drugs or alcohol), or injuring someone in a construction zone by driving recklessly or speeding.
Vehicular assault is a fourth-degree felony. Potential penalties include 18 months in prison and loss of your license for 5 years.
Aggravated Vehicular Assault in Ohio
Aggravated vehicular assault according to O.R.C. 2903.09 is defined as causing serious physical harm to another person by operating a vehicle recklessly (may be under the influence of drugs or alcohol), or injuring someone in a construction zone by driving recklessly or speeding.
In Ohio, aggravated vehicular assault is a third-degree felony punishable by five years' prison and loss of your driver's license for ten years.
Vehicular Manslaughter in Ohio
The conviction penalties for vehicular manslaughter carry a 90-day sentence, license suspension for up to three years, and a $750 fine. This is a second-degree misdemeanor assault charge.
Menacing in Ohio
Menacing is a fourth-degree misdemeanor assault charge carrying a potential sentence of 70 days in jail and a $250 fine.
Aggravated Menacing in Ohio
Aggravated menacing under Ohio law, O.R.C. 2903.21, is knowingly cause another to believe harm will come to them through serious physical harm to the person or property, unborn, or a member of the person's immediate family.
In Ohio, aggravated menacing is a first-degree misdemeanor that can lead to a six-month jail sentence and $1,000 fine.
Aggravated Menacing by Stalking in Ohio
In Ohio, menacing by stalking is defined under O.R.C. 2903.211 as knowingly engaging in a pattern of conduct that causes the victim to believe they will experience physical harm.
Menacing by stalking is a first-degree misdemeanor crime punishable by six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Don't Wait to Contact Our Cleveland Assault Attorneys
When you've been charged with assault, put our team of former prosecutors to work for you. When you need tough defense that's with you every step of the way, Patituce & Associates delivers.
Call us at (440) 709-8088 for a free consultation with an experienced Cleveland assault lawyer. We are here to protect you.
We Offer No-Cost, Confidential Phone Consultations.
Our Team Has Over 70 Years of Combined Experience.
Our Lead Attorney Is A Board Certified Criminal Trial Attorney.
Our Attorneys Have Taken Cases to Jury Trials Over 200 Times.
We Are the Firm Other Attorneys, Police & Prosecutors Turn To.
We Are Available 24/7.