Arrest data for the state of Ohio shows that nearly 1,800 residents have been arrested 10 or more times for driving under the influence. Research analysis done by The Columbus Dispatch revealed that two-thirds of people arrested for drunken driving in Ohio are only charged once. According to one Ohio based attorney, roughly 90% of his DUI clients are first-time offenders. The majority of these first time offenders made the mistake of thinking they were “okay to drive.”
The remaining one-third of DUI offenders have multiple arrests and some have numerous convictions for driving drunk. According to data from the Ohio Department of Public Safety, 11 people have 17 arrests, five have 18, another five have 19, and two people have 20 arrests for DUI.
A first time DUI conviction for driving under the influence is punishable by either a mandatory three-day jail sentence or three days in a driver intervention program, as well as a six-month license suspension. Judges have the option to suspend the license of a repeat offender for life. However, The Columbus Dispatch found that lifetime suspensions are rare.
Lancaster Assistant Law Director Stephanie Hall says that drunk drivers usually avoid jail-time because judges tend to reserve harsher penalties for violent offenders. A recently passed state law gave judges the authority to require those convicted of DUI to have a device installed in their vehicle that measures their blood-alcohol level before they can drive.
In Ohio, a driver is impaired if their blood-alcohol level is 0.08% or higher. In recent years, the number of crashes involving drunk drivers has significantly increased. According to the State Highway Patrol, 350 people were killed in crashes that resulted in an OVI charge in 2013. 8,140 people were injured in DUI crashes that same year. In 2016, the figures for DUI crashes rose to 430 killed and 8,672 injured.
At Patituce & Associates, our lawyers have proven time and time again that they have the skills and resources needed to beat DUI charges. Our lawyers can help you, whether this is your first or third DUI. We are familiar with the strategies that prosecutors will use to charge you, and we can build a defense strategy to protect your rights and ensure you get the justice you deserve.
Call (440) 709-8088, or contact our team of Cleveland DUI lawyers to get started on your case today. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.